Sustainable Development Goals - SDGs

Last checked on:
18 February 2022
Published on:
6 October 2021

The Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) are 17 goals to change the world for the better by 2030. In 2015, all 193 United Nations Member States agreed to these goals as part of the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development.

The goals are a universal call to action to end poverty, protect the planet and improve the lives and prospects of everyone, everywhere.

What are the SDGs?

The 17 SDGs are:

  1. No poverty
  2. Zero hunger
  3. Good health and well-being
  4. Quality education
  5. Gender equality
  6. Clean water and sanitation
  7. Affordable and clean energy
  8. Decent work and economic growth
  9. Industry, innovations and infrastructure
  10. Reduced inequalities
  11. Sustainable cities and communities
  12. Responsible consumption and production
  13. Climate action
  14. Life below water
  15. Life on land
  16. Peace, justice and strong institutions
  17. Partnerships for the goals.

Find out more about a specific goal on the United Nations website.

SDGs and the Netherlands Enterprise Agency

We support the SDGs and offer development cooperation programmes and subsidies, which bring us one step closer to achieving the goals. Our programmes focus on food security, gender equality and climate action. Find out more about our focus themes on our development cooperation page.

Get inspired

Since 2015, we have supported many projects that contribute to the SDGs. Read inspiring stories about these projects and find out how you can get involved.

Get advice

Do you have an idea for a project that contributes to one of the 17 Sustainable Development Goals? Consult our advisors; they are happy to help and offer advice.

Get started

Use our subsidies and programmes guide for financial support for your plans. Let us know who you are and what you are looking for, and we will give you a customised overview of the schemes available.

Is this page useful?